Tags

, , ,

Yesterday I cooked for the first time for Brad in what seemed like over a year. Maybe longer. Yes, yes…I’m spoiled. Not only is my dad practically a gourmet chef, but Brad also cooks dinners for me at night when we dine in. I’m not quite sure what spurred me to have the urge to cook something but after looking in the empty fridge I thought we could use a good meal together. The past month has been beyond crazy busy and I just wanted a couple of hours to connect with myself and enjoy a meal with Brad…without the distractions of a restaurant or family celebration.

I don’t think I’ve shared the best cookbook around. Meet Dad’s Dishes.

Screenshot of the Cover of the Cookbook

My Dad compiled a collection of recipes that we have all grown to love over the past several years. His culinary exploration after retirement turned into an amazing hobby that we have all benefited from. This past Christmas, after what seemed like 800 rounds of editing and formatting, we sent the book to the printer and he gave us each Dad’s Dishes for Christmas. Each recipe has been tested in our home kitchen and has the Chadwick stamp of approval. I decided to make Parmesan crusted Grouper and then an Edamame tomato dish that I poured over fresh pasta. Yum!

Grouper (or any mild fish), Parmesan Crusted / Serves 6

      •  2 lb fresh grouper fillets
      • 2 tbsp lemon juice
      • 1/2  cup grated Parmesan cheese
      • 1/4 cup butter, softened (the softer the better)
      • 2  tbsp  mayonnaise (I used plain greek yogurt as a substitute)
      • 3  tbsp Panko bread crumbs
      • 1 dash hot pepper sauce
      • salt and pepper to taste

             Preheat the oven to 400°F. Place the grouper fillets on a greased baking tray. Brush them with lemon juice. Bake for 12 minutes at 400°F.

             In a small bowl, stir together the Parmesan cheese, butter, mayonnaise, Panko, hot pepper sauce, salt and pepper. Set aside. Remove fish from oven. Turn on broiler. Spread the cheese mixture on top of fillets and return to oven to broil for about a minute, until the topping is browned and bubbly. Serve immediately and enjoy!

I had to laugh when we were cleaning up. I said that next time I thought I would try to make the Edamame dish as a side and add a touch more flavor. Brad said, “Yeah, that will be nice in 2 years.” HAHAHA. I enjoy cooking but finding the time has been the least of my priorities while in school when the men in my life cook better than any restaurant around. I was thankful Brad liked dinner last night. I surprised him with Pistachio popsicles from our favorite dessert maker. Super yum! We both had one and then this morning I noticed the lonely third was gone. 🙂

~~~~~

This week marks the last full academic week in my life! Pretty crazy when I think about it that way. I have 2 days of classes next week, and finish the week up with 3 summer exams. Then a two-week break before starting on rotations July 4th! I know this isn’t much of a blog update but I realized it had been since our Costa Rica trip that I’ve found the time to sit down and write anything. A lot has happened since then and starting a long update was too daunting. As a sneak peek, I graduated with my MPH degree, watched my sister graduate college from Butler, held her bachelorette party, celebrated her wedding day with her, met my new future niece finally, started my own wedding plans, was in full-time summer classes and have started trying to prepare for the new adventure of rotations. Hopefully I’ll slowly find the time to expand on the highlights. Here’s to a less busy June!

