Tags

, , , , , ,

My friend Rachel today leaned over in class and asked me something along the lines of “I think you got the new zodiac sign…a serpent or something.” I looked at her with a completely blank face and said “What?” She quickly whispered, “You haven’t heard!” No, no, I had not heard.

Was she pulling my leg? What other mind-blowing events had passed me by this week?

News alert

If you, like me, haven’t heard the latest astrological news….the long standing, cherished, simplistic 12 month, self-identifying zodiac signs have changed!

Damn stars.

I quickly did some research. What better way to procrastinate studying, yet again, than to quell the fear that I have been following the wrong horoscope all these years.

According to Parke Kunkle the moon’s gravitational pull has made the Earth “wobble” around its axis in a process called precession. That has created about a one-month bump in the stars’ alignment. This bump has caused a shift in our signs and a proposed addition of the 13th long orphaned Ophiuchus (Ooh-FEE-yew-kus). Ophiuchus isn’t a new zodiac sign at all, only neglected. The ancient Babylonians had 13 constellations, but threw out Ophuchicus, the snake holder, to create an easy 12 constellation system to fit with our 12 month calendar.

Meet Ophuchicus, the new Zodiac stirring up worldwide trouble.

According to the Minnesota Planetarium Society, here is where the real signs of the Zodiac should fall. If you are very much attached to your sign, you may not want to read ahead. I’ll leave some space to give you a quiet exit….

 

……………

 

 

……………

 

 

……………

 

 

NEW ZODIAC SIGN CHART

Capricorn January 20 to February 16

Aquarius February 16 to March 11

Pisces March 11 to April 18.

Aries April 18 to May 13

Taurus May 13 to June 21.

Gemini June 21 to July 20

Cancer July 20 to August 10

Leo August 10 to September 16

Virgo September 16 to October 30

Libra October 30 to November 23

Scorpio November 23 to November 29

Ophiuchus November 29 to December 17

Sagittarius December 17 to January 20

 

 

For those of you who have a Zodiac tattoo and were brave enough to read on–don’t panic quite yet.

Sam Bielinski, owner of Atomic Tattoos in Milwaukee, estimated that 1/5 customers asks for a zodiac tattoo. I found this to be shockingly high but I’m a bit clueless when it comes to the tattoo world. Shelley Ackerman, spokeswoman for the American Federation of Astrologers, advises clients not to overreact. “This doesn’t change your chart at all. I’m not about to use it,” she said. “Every few years, a story like this comes out and scares the living daylights out of everyone, but it’ll go away as quickly as it came.” (from the Star Tribune)

While I have not been booted from my tried and true zodiac sign ♐ … I still feel a tinge of loss. I used to be a cusper…right smack on the edge of Capricorn and Sagittarius. If you were born on a cusp, you have qualities of the two signs that you straddle. The sign that you were actually born under (Sagittarius in my case) will always have the stronger influence. This meant that if my horoscope didn’t look so hot for the day, I’d simply glance over at Capricorn and say…well, perhaps today is the day I get to be the lesser influence.

If the Minnesota Planetarium Society have their way my entire family and Brad will have been booted from their signs…sorry guys!

I didn’t realize I was emotionally attached to my sign until the thought of losing it crossed my mind. My grandmother was very much into astrology, drawing my astrological sun chart when I was born and making predictions about my life. It looks something like this…all gibberish to me.

Although now I’m intrigued to go find it and admire the gibberish.

 

Meet my sign: Sagittarius ♐, Centaur The Archer.

I’m glad this still sums me up…


Nothing like a little Zodiac drama to lighten up my night…or make me feel like an enthusiastic, sensual, generous, positive thinker!

 

